Never-Before-Heard Johnny Cash Material Unearthed for Billy Sherrill-produced Collection

Never-Before-Heard Johnny Cash Material Unearthed for Billy Sherrill-produced Collection
Late country great Johnny Cash has been honoured with various archival releases since his death in 2003, and the latest is an album made up of 12 newly discovered studio cuts. Out Among the Stars is due out on March 25 through Columbia/Legacy.

These 12 tracks apparently come from two studio sessions, one at Nashville's Columbia Studios in 1981 and at 1111 Sound Studios in 1984. The songs were produced by renowned country producer Billy Sherrill. Two of the tracks — "Call Your Mother" and "I Came to Believe" — are Cash originals.

The album includes duets with June Carter Cash and Waylon Jennings. According to a press release, these aren't demos or alternate versions, and they've never been released in any form. Rather, "They remained in the vaults during the years Columbia Records released Johnny Cash's last albums for the label and were subsequently forgotten."

John Carter Cash, along with Legacy, found the recordings last year when cataloguing his parents' archives.

"When my parents passed away, it became necessary to go through this material," the Man in Black's son said in a statement. "We found these recordings that were produced by Billy Sherrill in the early 1980s. They were beautiful."

The recordings were then restored at the Cash Cabin Studios in Hendersonville, TN. See the tracklist below. The album is available to pre-order here

Out Among the Stars:

1. Out Among the Stars
2. Baby Ride Easy (duet with June Carter Cash)
3. She Used to Love Me a Lot
4. After All
5. I'm Movin' On (duet with Waylon Jennings)
6. If I Told You Who It Was
7. Call Your Mother
8. I Drove Her Out of My Mind
9. Tennessee
10. Rock and Roll Shoes
11. Don't You Think It's Come Our Time (duet with June Carter Cash)
12. I Came To Believe