Toronto Psych Crew Possum Announce Sophomore Album 'Lunar Gardens'

Trip out to lead single "Gala at the Universe City" now
Toronto Psych Crew Possum Announce Sophomore Album 'Lunar Gardens'
Toronto-based psych unit Possum blew minds in 2019 with debut album Space Grade Assembly, and they're set to do it again with the follow-up. Lunar Gardens is slated to arrive on July 2 via Idée Fixe

Where Space Grade Assembly delivered a "combination of psych rock, kraut and garage," Lunar Gardens is poised to expand their sonic explorations further with the introduction of jazz, funk and kosmische sounds.

Said the band in a statement, "While Space Grade Assembly dealt more with space in a cold literal sense, Lunar Gardens' approach is more 'space as metaphor for consciousness in all of its infinite expanding fractal forms,' a surrealist escapist space fantasy of impossible spaces — the type of place you might go when the things are too heavy here in 3D. If we were talking movies, one might say Space Grade Assembly is 2001: A Space Odyssey and Lunar Gardens is The Holy Mountain."

Lead single "Gala at the Universe City" jams a cornucopia of psychedelic treasures into its two-minute runtime, including ample wah pedal, laidback background vocals and plenty of rhythmic grooves. "Fire, water, earth, they all are friends of mine," sings Brandon Bak before the vocals dissipate into Tobin Haywood's nimble guitar theatrics. If you were looking to celebrate 420 18 days early, here's a good place to start.

Listen to "Gala at the Universe City" below, and keep scrolling for more information on Lunar Gardens.

Lunar Gardens:

1. Clarified Budder
2. Gala at the Universe City
3. Heywood Floyd
4. Guest of the Moon
5. Leyline Riders
6. Moonjuice
7. Dance of the Eclipse
8. Lunar Gardens