Safe to Say Return with 'Down in the Dark'

Safe to Say Return with 'Down in the Dark'
After sharing their Hiding Games EP with us last summer, Toronto pop-punk outfit Safe to Say are ready to unleash their second full-length album. Titled Down in the Dark, the record arrives this summer.

A press release says the record embraces both what the band achieved with Hiding Games and a move beyond conventional songwriting and recording techniques, as well as genre limitations. Lyrically, vocalist/guitarist Brad Garcia put his pen to write songs about the concept of time.

"When we were recording our last EP, our assistant engineer asked how old we were and immediately followed by saying, 'You are going to start seeing a lot of your friends and people your age start dying. It's tough'," Garcia revealed in a statement. "I don't really remember the context of the situation but that stuck with me."

He continued, "Whether he meant physically dying or not, growing up, you see the death of adolescence every day — in your failed relationships, people moving onto different interest, friends parting ways, people giving up on the things the love, depression, anxiety, and everything in between. Down in the Dark, to me, is a way to show how we can all change for better or worse when very adult situations get dumped on you, when you're really still just a kid."

Down in the Dark will arrive on July 22 through New Damage Records/Sideonedummy. Scroll through the record's tracklist and the band's forthcoming live dates alongside Four Year Strong to hear album cut "Tangerine" in the player below.

Down in the Dark:

1. Only Rain
2. From The Top
3. Ultra Blue
4. Dove
5. Tangerine 
6. Gone to Ground
7. Slip
8. Louver
9. Afterglow
10. Hiraeth
11. Crows
12. Your Favourite Dream
13. In A Room

Tour dates:

08/14 Vancouver, BC - The Cobalt*
08/15 Calgary, AB - The Gateway*
08/16 Edmonton, AB - Starlite Room*
08/17 Saskatoon, SK - Louis' Pub*
08/18 Winnipeg, MB - Park Theatre*

*with Four Year Strong